21-08-2008: Anwar threatens to ‘open can of worms’

Theedgedaily.com

by Regina William

BUKIT MERTAJAM: Don’t push your luck with me or I will open your can of worms! This was the threat issued by Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) de facto leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak following allegations which resurfaced here against him.

The latest was that of him ogling at the wife of Larut member of parliament (MP) and Deputy Housing and Local Government Minister Hamzah Zainuddin a decade ago.

At a gathering in Permatang Pauh on Tuesday night, Hamzah repeated the allegations which first also surfaced in 1998.

“I am being very patient all this time, but I would like to warn them not to push me beyond the limit. If I open my mouth on personal matters, Najib will be kept busy answering them for a very long time. I have refrained from doing so, as this is not a personal battle but about the political future of the country.

“Remember, I too was in the government and I was privy to a lot of information. Najib knows what I know and he knows what I am talking about. Don’t push me to respond or he will regret it,” Anwar said. [more]

Leave a Reply

